BEDA 16

Okay, gonna make this quick since Katie, Rachel(hi Rachel, you’re not really a creeper!) and I are  going to drink wine and watch the first two episodes of the new Doctor Who! You’re so jealous, I know.

Today was my last day at TLA and it was a good one. Started the morning off with a panel of some Maverick list authors Mariko Tamaki (Skim), Kazu Kibuishi (Amulet), Ellen Schreiber(Vampire Kisses), and Chris Schweizer (Crogan’s Vengeance). It was great, lots of great questions answered in a great manner. Lots about the process of writing and/or illustrating graphic novels, the joys of writing for younger audiences etc.

Got to watch a few of the book talks by the teens who were attending TLA for the Texas Teens 4 Libraries day. Then I was dragged to the Bluebonnet Award luncheon which is fun but takes a loooong time, so I left after an hour (they hadn’t even gotten around to presenting the winning author and illustrator yet.

Anywho, I moved onto a panel called Books and Technology with Cynthia Leitich-Smith (Tantalize, Eternal), Cory Doctorow (Little Brother, For the Win and kinda sexy in his thick framed glasses and wicked intelligence), Jay Asher (13 Reasons Why), Jude Watson (aka Judy Blundell: several of the 39 Clues books, What I Saw and How I Lied) AND Maureen Johnson (13LBE, Suite Scarlett etc.). And it was fan-FRICKING-tastic all about how these writers utilize technology in their writing and in connecting to their readers. Maureen reference her fake internet award 🙂 And afterward I screwed up my courage to talk to her. I told her that my BEDA buddies wanted me to say hello, she said Hi! in a high pitched squeaky voice and talked about her seagull voice and then she made a seagull noise. It was awesome. Got a pic too!

Someone got out of their jar!

After that I went to Maureen’s signing and chatted with a lot of manic excitement with the people next to me in line (the girl in front of me had her sign a jar!) I had her sign it like a tweet! 🙂 Afterward I hung out at the YART booth and chatted with people about the books on the Lone Star, Tayshas and Maverick lists. Much fun.

Skipped out on the general session and the book cart drill team because- oof too many people! Exhausted just thinking about it. Instead came back to Katie’s went out and had a hamburger with a fried egg on it…tasty, but it needed some veggies on it.

Okay, the 11th hour is almost over which is ok since i’ve seen it twice already but we’re going to watch the second one soon so I’m going to bid you adieu!

p.s. Did I tell you I got swag from the Unshelved booth? I did!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “BEDA 16

  1. That’s awesome! Great picture, too. Glad to hear you had such a good time!

  2. Autumn

    That is such a great photo. I know we are all very jealous. I’m glad you had such a great experience.

Leave a Reply

