BEDA 17 Why I hate naps

I know I know, everyone loooves naps. I get a lot of strange looks when I say that I don’t like them. But they make me feel bad.

See, a nap is great in theory: a little chance to catch up on your sleep that you might no get at the end of the day, snoozing with the afternoon sun on your face, etc.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m a big fan of sleeping but I can usually find something else to do with my time on a lazy afternoon (not always, but usually), or at least there’s something I should be doing (like today–grocery shopping) instead of sleeping. So I only nap when I can’t help myself like I’ve been up all night or I was surrounded by lots and lots of people for 3 days, woke up at 5am drove 3 hours and kept up with my kids at the Friendswood is great Festival and then drove back to the apt in the warm sun. But after a 2 hour deep sleeping nap I feel awful. My limbs don’t want to move around, I feel overheated from being under the covers, too cranky to call friends to hang out and my head aches. All I want to do is go back to sleep and I don’t need that much sleep so I’m stuck.

Am I napping incorrectly? Have any tips?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “BEDA 17 Why I hate naps

  1. Julia

    Don’t nap under all your covers! Just use one sheet or a light blanket. Also, sleep cycle durations dictate that sleep does the most for you when you do it in roughly 3 hour increments. I’ve found that 1 1/2 hour naps actually work pretty well too. Just FYI.

    • librariansti

      Thanks for the advice! I shall take it into consideration though I don’t like the idea of having an alarm set for a nap… 🙂

  2. Autumn

    I have the same problem with naps. I wake up groggy, nauseated and with really a really bad headache. It sucks because sometimes I can’t stop myself from falling asleep.

    I think it’s because of how quickly I (we) get into the deeper part of the sleep cycle. So waking up is more jarring.

  3. Zharleen

    I always set my alarm whenever I sleep, unless I have absolutely nothing planned for the next 24 hours. (But I do work nights, so my circadian’s all thrown off, anyway.) I LOVE naps. I took a 15 min nap right before my workout the other day, and I swear, I felt AWESOME after. But if I’m not asleep in 10 mins, I get up & do something productive. Trying to sleep when you can’t is the worst.

Leave a Reply

