In less happy news

My family’s dog Queenie passed away last night. She was a big part of our family for almost 15 years and we’re all devastated. We had a close call with her over easter weekend but thought she was doing better (which was confirmed by her vet visit last weekend) but my parents woke up this morning to find her not-sleeping outside their room. When I finally got their calls this morning around 6 they were burying her in the backyard, but I haven’t been able to really tell much people internet-wise because my sister Katie (who Queenie really belonged to) had her first day of work today and we didn’t want to ruin it for her. She knows now so I feel I can write a little but about it.

She was an awesome dog. She knew all sorts of tricks, she could sit, shake paws, sit up, speak (bark), say please (a sort of sneeze or wuffley noise), she could jump on the back door and close it when she came inside. And I’d even taught her to do zombie-dog (play dead). And she was so sweet. She didn’t like very many guys (besides my dad there were only about 2-3 she wouldn’t bark at) but once she got over her shyness she loved on everyone. She was a beautiful dog and she will be missed terribly.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “In less happy news

  1. I’m so so sorry to hear about your dog. That must have been awful. Sending you my happy thoughts!

  2. Nick

    One of the best dogs I’ve ever known. I’m happy to have been on the short list of guys she liked. I miss her already.

  3. I’m so sorry. I heard something recently after my dog died… the problem with dogs is they don’t long enough (or something like that).

  4. Nicola

    Sorry for your loss – I hope you are all keeping well. She sounds like a great dog who lived a long & happy life. Cherish those good memories.

  5. Leigh Anne

    I only met Queenie the once, but she was a dear, old soul. Losing a dog is a different, sometimes deeper, kind of pain than most losses. I’ve always said dogs are better than people, and Queenie was a prime example of that.

  6. Autumn

    So sorry Christina. That is a tough experience to go through.

Leave a Reply

