BEDA 26 Quotations

Today’s theme is quotations, and I love quotes so I could go on and on. This is one from Merritt:

“Sti is the best” -Merritt

No seriously, I know we (BEDA Buddies and most everyone else who reads this blog–hi!) have a deep and abiding love for the written and spoken word. So a love of quotes isn’t too far behind, right? A tiny bundle of hilarity, wisdom, brilliance, stupidity. A single moment or ideal or a vast theory distilled into a line or two, there’s something especially magical about them that I have a need to collect.

It reminds me of a story a dear friend of mine told me once about her need to memorize songs because she thought no one else would remember them if she didn’t (did I tell that right?). I love and totally relate to that. Which is why I love that Holly got me a quote book while we were still in college (I haven’t made yours yet, Holly, but I’m going to!). It’s always  a comfort on a lousy day, and people love being quoted.

So here are a few, non-sequitur, quotes from the quote book:

“I hate you too fruit cup!”  ~Holly

“I know he brought her to England and she got smallpox and died– but that was NOT HIS FAULT!” ~Holly on John Rowlfe and Pocahontas

“They said it wasn’t caliente, but it’s so caliente!” ~Kat

“Your picture is priceless…it looks like someone just walked in for a party and said, “Guess who brought the jello mold!” ~Clay to Holly

“I want my dad to be more like Bing Crosby. And I tell him that and he gets mad” ~Jen

Okay that only took us through page 5, and there are 33 recorded pages. They sort of degenerate from that point on. Also, inside jokes are rarely hilarious to other people…which is, you know, what makes them inside jokes in the first place.

But I also love legitimate quotes (not that ours are illegitimate friends!), here are a few of my faves as picked previously by myself on goodreads.com and quotationspage.com

“The very least you can do in your life is figure out what you hope for. And the most you can do is live inside that hope. Not admire it from a distance, but live right in it, under its roof.”
— Barbara Kingsolver

Be still when you have nothing to say; when genuine passion moves you, say what you’ve got to say, and say it hot.D. H. Lawrence

Guard well within yourself that treasure, kindness. Know how to give without hesitation, how to lose without regret, how to acquire without meanness.– George Sand

“I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.”
— Douglas Adams

Okay, this could go on all night and I’m tired. If you love the quotes I love and you’re friends with me on goodreads or facebook you can see a bunch of them. 🙂

p.s. One of my kids is walking around polling people: Doctor Who or Doctor Horrible? It’s so awesome!

What do you think?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “BEDA 26 Quotations

  1. Amber

    Yes you did tell it right! Oh man, I was a weird child. But song lyrics really mean a lot to me now. 🙂

    I love you and your quote book!

  2. Zharleen

    I wish I’d made a quote book when I started living at the BAT Cave. :/
    I think I could fill a quote book w/ inside jokes btwn me & Christene, although we have so many inside jokes now, we’ve forgotten why some of the older ones are funny…

Leave a Reply

