BEDA 27

Today’s theme is ‘Addictions’ and Becky’s entry makes me want to talk about movies. Which, of course, is a great segue-way into talking about movies I have been/am addicted to. You know those movies you watched over and over again as a child? I think we all have at least one Disney movie completely memorized (mine was probably Beauty and the Beast), but I have several others.

You know the movies you just thought were so funny/awesome you *needed* to watch them once a day all summer? And then later there are your comfort movies or your bonding with sisters and mom movies or your studying with roommates movies? Those movies are the best. Those movies are so good I have large portions if not the entire script memorized. Sometimes even songs. So I’m going to introduce you to the movies that fill these niches for me, and I want to know yours too!

Movies I watched repeatedly as a child:

Beauty and the Beast

Belle was obviously the best Disney ‘princess’ because she is an avid reader. Though Mulan wins later for her awesome ass-kickery abilities.

The Little Rascals

I don’t know if I can tell you exactly *why* I loved this movie so much, but my sisters and I wore our VHS out watching it so much. We could recite the entire movie, I swear! GAH they’re SO CUTE!!!!

The Sound of Music

Okay, several things about the Sound of Music. First of all, who doesn’t love it (if you don’t I don’t want to know!)? As I’ve grown older I’ve discovered that it has really influenced my life, in my head my mom is Julie Andrews in this version (because it was her favorite movie or maybe because she often wears her hair like her, but probably because we always end up singing this song on long car trips :)). I also think that my love for difficult male characters (i.e. Mr. Darcy, Mr. Rochester etc.) stems directly from Captain Von Trapp *swoon*

Empire Records

Okay, I definitely had this movie memorized. And my sisters and I would act this scene out…oh the good times! 🙂

Movies I watch repeatedly with my mom and sisters:

Muppet Family Christmas

This is our perennial Christmas movie, not It’s a Wonderful Life or A Christmas Story. 🙂

Miss Congeniality

My dad *hates* this movie we watched it so much.

Pride and Prejudice (1995)

Also, my dad has seen all of this movie just by walking through the house when we watch it. That’s 5 hours of walking through the room!

Movies Holly and I (sometimes just me though) studied to:

Tombstone

I only really got addicted to Tombstone after Holly and I started watching it a lot during school. She does an excellent Doc Holliday impression. Eerily excellent. I love Virgil the best though.

The Saint

What can I say, I have a love for a young Val Kilmer, especially in The Saint. Love this movie.

When Harry Met Sally

This could possibly be the best romantic comedy. Because I think it’s the most realistic? Though I love ridiculous love stories where the couple meets and falls in love in 10 minutes without knowing each other. Harry and Sally know each other’s faults and still love each other.  Gah so good. And I love Auld Lang Syne.

The Mummy

Okay this movie has everything going for it. Mummies (who are really kinda like zombies), treasure, a dirty Brendan Frasier (he should always be dirty), stereotyped Americans, AND a kick ass librarian. So awesome. I have this one just about memorized too…

The X Files: Fight the Future

Holly didn’t really like this one so much, but it’s my show! So sometimes she watched it with me…

French Kiss

This movie. What can I say? Perfection.

Movies I put on when I’m feeling crappy:

Shaun of the Dead

I remember vividly the first time I watched this movie with Nick my freshman year of college. Changed my life. I’ve been pushing it on people ever since.

An Ideal Husband:

God bless Oscar Wilde. He was the best. Also this is one of my favorite casts of all frigging time!

Bringing Up Baby

No words necessary here.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “BEDA 27

  1. So much awesome. Bringing Up Baby especially. Classic classic!

  2. Zharleen

    Movies I watched repeatedly as a child: Disney’s The Little Mermaid (I think I identified w/ her Daddy issues, ha), Beauty & the Beast (Belle’s a reader!), & Aladdin (I think I was in awe of a Disney princess who wasn’t white). Sound of Music, of course. (When I dress up, I still keep in mind an image of Leisl in that white dress in the gazebo.)
    Definitely w/ you on When Harry Met Sally. And on dirty Brendan Fraser. I think most men look better a little dirty. They should all have stubble, at least. And glasses.
    My roommates & I have a movie: Little Manhattan. Have you seen it? It was our test for guys, haha. If the guy liked it, he passed. If he didn’t, our interest in keeping him around severely decreased. I have an extra copy, if you want it. 🙂
    My mom was never super into movies, & neither was Roxy. Sean, Christene (Villanueva, now Luong), & I, though, love watching movies together. Our favorites are Robin Hood: Men in Tights, Zoolander, & Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me. We like to laugh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

