B3DA 19: Book Review

I was about to choose a book and climb into bed when I remembered I hadn’t blogged. So here I am! Tuesdays are always weird to me, I don’t go into work till noon, and I have 2 programs back to back from 4:30-6:30, and then dinner till 7:30 and we close at 9:00, so add in a meeting with the other children’s dept. librarians and that makes for a quick feeling workday. And if I’m productive in the morning, it makes it seem long. Does that make sense? This morning I managed to go for a run, shower, clean the kitchen, watch an episode of the Graham Norton show, and modpodge an old coffee tin and replant my favorite plant Emerac into said tin before heading off to work. Whew! Anyway, now it’s time for a book review.

Well I don’t know if this will really be a review so much as a discussion or thought/rant. My coworker Karen and I are in the middle of a project. We reading (her) and rereading (me) the Harry Potter series, actually we’re listening to the audiobooks on our commutes which is a real joy since Jim Dale is the narrator (though I hear Stephen Fry reads the British version-awesome!).

We’re on Order of the Phoenix now and I’ve realized while listening that I must not have paid very close attention during my first (and only) read when the book was first published because I remember very little of what’s happening! The biggest impression Order of the Phoenix left with me was of being very dark and moody. Harry was angsty all the time, we learn about the Order, Professor Umbridge was simperingly evil, Fred and George pulled their epic pranks, and there was The Character Who Died. But that’s about it. Listening to it now, I’m totally drawn in (and I can see why everyone was so angry about movies 5 & 6 now!)! It is darker, Fudge and Umbridge make me grit my teeth and want to scream (sometimes I do), she truly is the most villainous character I can think of at the moment. Yeah, I’d even put her above Voldemort. He’s out and out bad in a way that cartoonish compared to her creeping, sickly sweet fascism. Urrrrrgh, she makes me so angry! BUT Dumbledore is a total Bad Ass. Dumbledore’s Army is incredibly brave and resourceful, Dobby is there, Fred and George are just starting their pranks, we’re going to meet Hagrid’s half brother any day now, and so much more stuff. Okay, enough. I told myself I’d write till 10:30 and it’s 10:30 and you’ve all already read this book so there’s no need for me to tell you I’m giving in 5 stars.

Oh and here’s Ron eating:

In sad, sad, sad news of the day. Elisabeth Sladen passed away this morning. She played the Doctor’s companion Sarah Jane Smith from 1973-1976 (Pertwee and Baker), recurring her role in 2006 (with David Tennant’s Doctor), and she was awesome.

~~~~Jane Austen 30 Day Challenge~~~~~

19. Moment that made you laugh while reading.

“Very well. We now come to the point. Your mother insists upon your accepting it. Is it not so, Mrs. Bennet?”

“Yes, or I will never see her again.”

“An unhappy alternative is before you, Elizabeth. From this day you must be a stranger to one of your parents. Your mother will never see you again if you do not marry Mr. Collins, and I will never see you again if you do.

Elizabeth could not but smile at such a conclusion of such a beginning, but Mrs. Bennet, who had persuaded herself that her husband regarded the affair as she wished, was excessively disappointed.

“What do you mean, Mr. Bennet, in talking this way? You promised me to insist upon her marrying him.”

Cracks me up every time!

****Total Miles Run To Date****

                             2

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “B3DA 19: Book Review

  1. I’ve been re-reading the Harry Potter series since December and 4 remains my favourite so far. I’m in the middle of Half-Blood Prince, which I read when it came out but hadn’t re-read Order so I was totally lost as to who most of the characters were. 4 is still my favourite (though I’ve never read 7) and I kinda agree about Order of the Phoenix. I found the first half really difficult to get through for all of the angst but the second half was so much more compelling than I had remembered. I think Rowling needs a good slap for Umbridge, how did she make her so irritating? haha.

  2. I’m SO sad about Elisabeth Sladen!! RIP 😦

Leave a Reply

