It’s that time again!

So 5 years ago…wait was it really 5 years ago? That’s what Becky is saying, and I truest her, so I’ll take her word for it. But anyway, 5 years ago, the amazing and batty Maureen Johnson decided to blog everyday for the entire month of April. A pretty ambitious undertaking even if she is a professional writer and (I presume) already writes everyday. Then a bunch of her readers/followers wanted to join in and then she matched us all up together (she must not have written anything work related in April, come to think of it). And that’s how I met the 3 lovely ladies I call my BEDA Buddies! Becky (mentioned above), Autumn and Nicola have become fixtures in my life even though I’ve yet to meet in any of them in ‘real life’. Psh, like the Internet isn’t real.

So this entry marks the beginning of 30 straight days of blogging. And though I’m crazy busy this spring (coordinated calendars with my family on Saturday and the first weekend I have free is in late May), I am committed to doing this this year! Tomorrow I’ll do a quick recap of all the exciting things that have happened in my life since last April but today I’ll go over  a few exciting things that have already gone down today (and it’s not even noon yet!).

Just after I got to work this morning, one of shelvers heard a noise while she was emptying the book drop. It sounded like a cat, so Karen and I sprang into action. When we got outside we discovered that it was a cat! A little gray kitten hiding behind our shrubbery and meowing the saddest meows. Karen went back inside to try and call Animal Control and I attempted to catch the kitty. I didn’t have a lot of luck, lacking the guts to roughly grab her I just followed her from one flower bed to another, making my way around the library. Until a random good Samaritan/animal rescuer saw me and joined me on the front lawn and together we caught her as she tried to scurry under another bush. Once she was in my helper’s arms she was completely docile and didn’t try to struggle at all. My helper even volunteered to take her over to animal control for us! I love when things work out like that!

Then an hour or so later a regular patron dropped by the Children’s Desk to say hello. His 8 year old granddaughter and I are close because I used to do storytimes at her daycare/preschool. Sydney is precociousness personified and her grandpa likes to fill me in on Sydney Stories when he comes in. Today he told me about a conversation he and Sydney had about mentors. He asked her if she knew what a mentor was and she said yes, a mentor is someone who supports you and helps you learn things you want to learn. Then he asked her if she had ever had a mentor and she thought about it for a minute and said, “I think my mentor is Christina!”

And that, my friends, is just one of the many reasons I love my job.

So welcome to Blog Every Day April, are you ready? I am!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “It’s that time again!

  1. We can’t ever meet IRL because I would steal your kittens.

Leave a Reply

